Cuisine Curiosity

I decided to make a separate blog post just to talk about the food in India.

Indian ice cream I tried at a restaurant in Delhi, India.

Indian ice cream I tried at a restaurant in Delhi, India.

A typical Indian dinner plate looks like this, not pictured is the bread, a.k.a.

A typical Indian dinner plate looks like this, not pictured is the bread, a.k.a. “naan”.

Curry and another dish at a restaurant called Barbecue Nation.

Curry and another dish at a restaurant called Barbecue Nation.

While on my trip, I had told myself to be open-minded when it came to trying new food.  This mindset enabled me to get the most out of my thrilling experience.  Over the course of the week, I didn’t know what I was putting in my mouth most of the time.  It didn’t always look appetizing.  Our group ate some meals at the hotel we stayed at, and other meals were eaten at various restaurants.

Several restaurants we ate at had a buffet style dinner, with foods of many different colors.  The bread is called “naan”, and it was served at every meal.  I never got tired of consuming naan.  What I didn’t care for was the spicy food that had a long unfamiliar name.  This was when I didn’t know exactly what I had been putting in my body.  Often, eating spicy food for lunch meant that we weren’t going to feel like eating for the rest of the day or night.  Eating the same thing over and over again made us feel sick.  Thankfully, I took as many stomach pills and anti-diarrhea stuff to alleviate my situation.  I never threw up, and praise the Lord for that.

I noticed how none of the restaurants stand by themselves in India like they do here in America.  Everything is connected.  I observed several McDonald’s, a few Starbuck’s Coffee locations, a Dunkin’ Donuts and Domino’s Pizza.  These popular destinations were the only American related places that I noticed.  I learned that they don’t serve beef in the Indian McDonald’s because cows are sacred to the culture.  A major part of the Hindu tradition in India is that most people are vegetarians. Thus, I really missed eating meat during some meals.

I looked forward to dessert every day.  The ice cream we had was like heaven in a bowl.  It was my favorite food that I tried on the trip, by far.  It tasted better than American hand-dipped cones or soft served milkshakes.  I’m not talking about the weird-looking pink splatter with beads pictured above. I’m talking about rick, thick and creamy chocolate ice cream.  AH! SO GOOD.  I was fortunate to come back to the states not having gained 15 pounds.

We avoided drinking tap water in our hotel rooms.  This was very wise, as the conditions for water aren’t as sanitary as they are in the USA.  We’re lucky we get to drink tap water here.

Leave a Reply

